CBHP Guide (College of Biosciences and Health Professions)

1. Click here to sign up for Grammarly
2.  Enter your @chsu.edu email address
3. Create your own password
4. Check your inbox and spam folders for an activation email from Grammarly
5. Click on the activation link and you're ready to use the service

To install Grammarly - Navigate to this site: https://www.grammarly.com/signin 

See the image below to find the various platforms Grammarly can be installed on.

Please email us at library@chsu.edu if you have any questions.

To install Libkey Nomad, please navigate to the link below and select the browser you are currently using:

LibKey Nomad Installation - Browser Selection

Please email us at library@chsu.edu if you have any questions.

1. Click on the following link: Sciwheel.
2. Click the box titled “Create free account now.”
3. Enter your first and last name, CHSU email address, and a password.
4. You will receive an email titled “Your Sciwheel Registration” with a link to validate your email address. (If you do not immediately see the email, check your junk folder and the “other” tab if you have a focused inbox.) Click on the link in the email.

Please email us at library@chsu.edu if you have any questions.

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality) - Data & Surveys

Topics include: MEPS (Medical Expenditure Panel Survey); HCUP (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project); HIV & AIDS Cost & Use; Safety Net Monitoring Initiative (vulnerable populations - access to care). This chart will help you decide which database to look at: http://www.ahrq.gov/data/dataresources.htm.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

This is the CDC's main site, with links to a myriad of popular topics, publications, and research tools. Provides access to complete information about the agency and its various components, as well as funding, statistics and publications.

FastStats

Provided by the National Center for Health Statistics, this site is composed of an index that links to quick statistical information sheets on a multitude of topics and geographic areas. The fact sheets in turn link to relevant statistical sources.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

California Department of Health Care Services Data & Statistics

Find reports and data from California's Department of Health Care Services.

MedlinePlus - Health Topics

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Most health topics will have a link to statistics.

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Compilation of health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection.

USA.gov Health

Provides information about Health & Nutrition, Health Insurance, Health by Population Group, Prescription Drugs, and more. USA.gov is an interagency initiative administered by the U.S. General Services Administration's Office of Citizen Services and Communications.

World Health Organization (WHO)

This page searches the extensive World Health Organization (WHO) Statistical Information System. Although the actual search interface is restricted to WHO documents, often they in turn point to outside sources.

Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181

Demographic and Health Surveys

European Health for All group databases

A central database of health-related statistics in the European Region. Covers basic demographics, health status, health determinants, and risk factors, as well as health care resources and expenditures. Includes data visualization and interactive online tools.

IDB Summary Demographic Data

United Nations Statistics Division

Find national statistics on a wide range of topic areas, including but not limited to demographic, social, economic, environmental, gender, and generational data.

World Health Organization Country Statistics

Health data and statistics for many countries.

World Health Organization Global Health Observatory

Health-related statistics on an international level. Data is organized around health status and health quality indicators in relation to the World Health Organization's sustainable development and universal health coverage goals.

Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181

America's Health Rankings

America’s Health Rankings provides an annual analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis and a ranking of the healthiest and least healthy states. Browse by State and by Measure. The 2009 Rankings reveal the overall health of the U.S. population has not improved for the fifth year in a row.

California Health and Human Services Open Data Portal

CHHS has launched its Open Data Portal initiative in order to increase public access to non-confidential health and human services data.

California Health Interview Survey (CHIS)

Data from state-wide telephone-based health survey. Topics include health, housing, access to care, employment, insurance, food environment, etc. Access requires a free AskCHIS account.

California Vital Statistics Data Tables

Official source of demographic planning for State planning & budgeting.

Disease Trends: State and Local Health Statistics

Part of the Centers for Disease Control, this site allows you to search the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report for information on a specific state, as well as New York City, the District of Columbia, and certain U.S. territories.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts

Provides summary statistics at the state and county level of census data related to demographics, education, economics, etc. Good for finding basic information about a specific city or state.

State Health Facts Online 

The Kaiser Family Foundation site provides information on a number of health and demographic indicators in the United States. Browse by category or by location.

County Health Rankings

Constructed as a snapshot to identify health issues at the county level.

California Department of Health Care Access and Information: Data and Reports

Data sets and products from reports submitted by individual licensed healthcare facilities. This government agency was formerly known as OSHPD (Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development).

Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181

data.census.gov

Data from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.

Data 2010

View reports from data collected under the HealthyPeople2010 initiative with 427 objectives. National data with some information available at the state level.

FastStats

Website providing quick access to statistics related to topics of importance to public health. Statistics created by U.S. government and state agencies. Website maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

Health, United States

The National Center for Health Statistics published the latest edition of the annual report on trends in health statistics.

Healthy People 2030

Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them. Search the Objectives and Data database.

Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181

data.census.gov

Data from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.

California Vital Statistics Data Tables

Official source of demographic planning for State planning & budgeting.

Center for Health Statistics Vital Statistics Query System

Provided by the California Department of Health Services, this site provides vital statistics for the state of California on a county level.

County Health Rankings

Constructed as a snapshot to identify health issues at the county level.

Fresno County Department of Public Health

Fresno DRIVE

U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts

Provides summary statistics at the state and county level of census data related to demographics, education, economics, etc. Good for finding basic information about a specific city or state.

Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181

Case Report Poster Format

1. Title

   • Concise and descriptive, indicating the condition or scenario.
   • Include the authors’ names and institutional affiliations.

2. Introduction/Background

   • Case Significance: Briefly explain the importance of the case (e.g., rarity, diagnostic challenge, or educational value).
   • Objective: State what the case demonstrates or the learning objectives.

3. Case Description

   • Patient Presentation: Describe relevant patient demographics, chief complaint, and history.
   • Examination Findings: Include key physical exam findings or lab/imaging results that guided diagnosis.
   • Timeline: Optionally, provide a timeline of the patient's clinical course if applicable.

4. Diagnosis

   • Diagnostic Process: Describe the process leading to the diagnosis, including differential diagnosis considerations and confirmatory tests.
   • Final Diagnosis: State the final diagnosis clearly, and explain why other potential diagnoses were ruled out.

5. Management and Outcomes

   • Intervention/Treatment: Summarize the treatment or management strategy used.
   • Outcome: Describe the patient's response to treatment, including any follow-up data if available.

6. Discussion

   • Case Significance: Discuss the clinical relevance of the case, including any diagnostic or treatment challenges.
   • Literature Comparison: Briefly compare the case with similar cases in the literature, if applicable.
   • Lessons Learned: Highlight any take-home messages or lessons for clinical practice.

7. Conclusion

   • Sum up the case’s key learning points or unique insights.

8. References

   • Cite relevant literature, particularly if referring to other case reports or guidelines.
   • Use a QR code and link to a document containing the references to save space

9. Acknowledgments

   • Recognize any contributors or funding sources (if applicable).

10. Contact Information

    • Provide an email or contact method for further inquiries.

Quality Improvement (QI) Poster Format

1. Title

   • Clear and descriptive, reflecting the improvement project’s goal or focus.
   • Include the names of the authors and institutional affiliations.

2. Introduction/Background

   • Problem Statement: Briefly explain the problem or process that required improvement.
   • Objective: Clearly state the improvement goal or target outcome.
   • Context: Provide relevant background information or data that justified the need for the QI project.

3. Methods

   • Intervention/Plan: Describe the intervention or strategy used to address the problem.
   • Framework: Mention any specific QI methodology used (e.g., PDSA cycles, Lean, Six Sigma).
   • Baseline Data: Present any baseline measurements or data that were used to assess the starting point.
   • Timeline: Provide a brief timeline of the QI project steps if applicable.

4. Results

   • Outcome Measures: Summarize key metrics or data points that show the impact of the intervention (e.g., pre- and post-intervention data).
   • Visuals: Use charts, tables, or graphs to show trends or improvements.
   • Process Measures: Include any data reflecting changes in processes (e.g., adherence to a protocol or time savings).

5. Discussion

   • Interpretation: Discuss the project’s outcomes, including any successes or unexpected findings.
   • Limitations: Note any challenges encountered during the QI project or limitations in data collection.
   • Sustainability: Address how the improvements will be maintained over time.

6. Conclusion

   • Summarize the impact of the QI project and its significance for the organization or patient outcomes.

7. Next Steps

   • Briefly outline any plans for further improvements or future QI projects related to this work.
8. References
   • Use a QR code and link to a document containing the references to save space

9. Acknowledgments

   • Recognize any team members, departments, or funding sources involved in the project.

10. Contact Information

    • Provide an email or contact method for follow-up questions.

Program Evaluation Poster Format

1. Title

   • Descriptive, clearly indicating the program evaluated and its focus or aim.
   • Include authors' names and institutional affiliations.

2. Introduction/Background

   • Program Description: Briefly describe the program or service being evaluated, including its goals and intended audience.
   • Objective: Clearly state the purpose of the evaluation, such as assessing effectiveness, identifying challenges, or understanding outcomes.

3. Methods

   • Evaluation Design: Describe the evaluation approach, whether qualitative, quantitative, or mixed methods.
   • Data Collection: Summarize data sources and collection methods, such as surveys, interviews, or observation.
   • Analysis: Briefly describe how data were analyzed (e.g., thematic analysis for qualitative data or statistical analysis for quantitative data).

4. Results

   • Outcome Data: Present findings related to the program’s goals and objectives.
   • Visuals: Use graphs, tables, or charts to show key metrics, trends, or participant feedback.
   • Impact Statements: Summarize any measurable impact, such as participant satisfaction rates, skill improvement, or changes in behavior.

5. Discussion

   • Interpretation of Results: Explain what the data reveals about the program’s success or areas needing improvement.
   • Limitations: Address any factors that may have influenced the results or limited the evaluation’s scope.

6. Lessons Learned

   • Highlight key takeaways from the evaluation that could inform future program improvements or similar initiatives.

7. Conclusion

   • Summarize the overall effectiveness of the program, its impact, and any recommendations for program refinement or continuation.

8. Future Directions

   • Outline next steps for the program based on evaluation findings, such as changes to enhance outcomes or further evaluations.
9. References
   • Use a QR code and link to a document containing the references to save space

10. Acknowledgments

    • Mention contributors or funding sources that supported the program and evaluation.

11. Contact Information

    • Provide contact details for those interested in learning more or implementing similar programs.

Educational Poster Format

1. Title

   • Clear and descriptive, reflecting the educational program or intervention's focus.
   • Include the authors' names and institutional affiliations.

2. Introduction/Background

   • Context: Briefly introduce the educational need or gap addressed by the program.
   • Objective: Clearly state the program’s educational objectives or learning outcomes.

3. Methods

   • Program Design: Describe the structure of the educational program or curriculum, including duration, setting, and instructional methods (e.g., lectures, workshops, simulations).
   • Participants: Briefly outline the target audience (e.g., medical students, residents).
   • Assessment Tools: Mention any assessment methods used to measure learning outcomes (e.g., pre- and post-tests, feedback surveys).

4. Implementation

   • Delivery: Summarize how the program was delivered, including any innovative teaching techniques or resources.
   • Challenges: Note any logistical or instructional challenges encountered during implementation.

5. Results

   • Outcome Data: Present data on participants’ performance or feedback regarding the educational intervention.
   • Visuals: Use charts, graphs, or tables to display key findings, such as improvements in knowledge or satisfaction levels.
   • Impact on Learning: Summarize the program’s effectiveness in meeting its educational goals.

6. Discussion

   • Interpretation: Discuss the significance of the findings, how they relate to the objectives, and any unexpected outcomes.
   • Limitations: Mention any limitations of the educational program or evaluation approach.

7. Lessons Learned

   • Share insights gained from the program that could guide future educational initiatives or improvements.

8. Conclusion

   • Provide a brief summary of the program's success and its potential impact on education within the field.
9. References
   • Use a QR code and link to a document containing the references to save space

10. Future Directions

    • Outline any planned modifications, expansions, or follow-up assessments based on the results.

11. Acknowledgments

    • Acknowledge team members, collaborators, or funding sources that supported the program.

12. Contact Information

    • Provide an email or other contact details for further inquiries.

Meta-Analysis or Systematic Review Poster Format

1. Title

   • Concise and descriptive, indicating the focus of the review or synthesis.
   • Include the authors' names and institutional affiliations.

2. Introduction/Background

   • Research Question or Objective: Clearly state the research question or objective of the review.
   • Context: Provide a brief background on why this synthesis is important, highlighting gaps in current knowledge or conflicting findings in the literature.

3. Methods

   • Search Strategy: Describe the databases searched, search terms, and any inclusion or exclusion criteria used.
   • Selection Criteria: Outline the criteria for selecting studies, including study designs, population, or intervention types.
   • Data Extraction: Summarize the process for extracting relevant data from the included studies.
   • Data Analysis: For a meta-analysis, briefly describe the statistical methods used to pool data (e.g., effect size calculations, forest plots).

4. Results

   • Study Selection: Provide an overview of the number of studies screened, included, and excluded (often represented with a PRISMA flow diagram).
   • Study Characteristics: Briefly describe the characteristics of the included studies (e.g., sample sizes, interventions).
   • Main Findings: Summarize key results, such as pooled effect sizes, subgroup analyses, or notable trends.
   • Visuals: Use forest plots, summary tables, or charts to display findings clearly.

5. Discussion

   • Interpretation: Discuss the significance of the synthesized results, including any patterns or notable findings.
   • Limitations: Acknowledge any limitations, such as variability in study designs or potential publication bias.
   • Comparison to Previous Literature: Briefly compare the findings with prior reviews or meta-analyses, if applicable.

6. Conclusion

   • Summarize the key takeaways and any implications for clinical practice, policy, or future research.
7. References
   • Use a QR code and link to a document containing the references to save space.

8. Future Directions

   • Suggest areas for further research to address gaps or limitations identified in the synthesis.

9. Acknowledgments

   • Recognize contributors or funding sources that supported the review.

10. Contact Information

    • Provide an email or contact details for further inquiries.