This course starts on September 30, 2024 and ends on May30, 2025.
Designing Science Presentations, 2e
by
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences, 6e
by
Polgar S, Thomas SA. Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2020.
by
Health Systems Science
by
Writing the Literature Review
by
How to Read a Paper
by
Designing Clinical Research
by
Studying a Study and Testing a Test
by
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics, 5e
by
To install Grammarly - Navigate to this site: https://www.grammarly.com/signin
See the image below to find the various platforms Grammarly can be installed on.
Please email us at library@chsu.edu if you have any questions.
To install Libkey Nomad, please navigate to the link below and select the browser you are currently using:
LibKey Nomad Installation - Browser Selection
Please email us at library@chsu.edu if you have any questions.
Please email us at library@chsu.edu if you have any questions.
Incidence: the number of newly diagnosed cases during a specific time period.
Life Expectancy: the average number of years of remaining life from a particular age based on the probabilities of death in each age group in one particular year.
Lifetime Risk: the probability of developing or dying of a specific disease.
Morbidity: the proportion of patients with a particular disease during a given year per given unit of population.
Mortality: all deaths reported in a given population during a specific time period. A measure of the incidence of death.
Prevalence: the number of new and pre-existing cases alive on a certain date. The proportion of persons with a particular disease or condition at a point in time.
Reporting Bias: an assessment bias that occurs when individuals in one group are more likely to report past events than individuals in another group. Reporting bias is especially likely to occur when one group is under disproportionate pressure to report confidential information.
Sensitivity and Specificity: measures for assessing the results of diagnostic and screening tests. Sensitivity represents the proportion of truly diseased persons in a screened population who are identified as being diseased by the test. It is a measure of the probability of correctly diagnosing a condition. Specificity is the proportion of truly nondiseased persons who are so identified by the screening test. It is a measure of the probability of correctly identifying a nondiseased person.
Survival: the proportion of patients alive at some point subsequent to the diagnosis of their specific disease.
Vital Statistics: used for general articles concerning statistics of births, deaths, marriages, etc.
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
In addition to the more specific sources listed on the above tabs, there are also Internet sites that can help you search a variety of sources for statistical information. Some of these are for information from the U.S. and state government, while others are more broad in scope.
AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality) - Data & Surveys
Topics include: MEPS (Medical Expenditure Panel Survey); HCUP (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project); HIV & AIDS Cost & Use; Safety Net Monitoring Initiative (vulnerable populations - access to care). This chart will help you decide which database to look at: http://www.ahrq.gov/data/dataresources.htm.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
This is the CDC's main site, with links to a myriad of popular topics, publications, and research tools. Provides access to complete information about the agency and its various components, as well as funding, statistics and publications.
Provided by the National Center for Health Statistics, this site is composed of an index that links to quick statistical information sheets on a multitude of topics and geographic areas. The fact sheets in turn link to relevant statistical sources.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
California Department of Health Care Services Data & Statistics
Find reports and data from California's Department of Health Care Services.
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Most health topics will have a link to statistics.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Compilation of health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection.
Provides information about Health & Nutrition, Health Insurance, Health by Population Group, Prescription Drugs, and more. USA.gov is an interagency initiative administered by the U.S. General Services Administration's Office of Citizen Services and Communications.
World Health Organization (WHO)
This page searches the extensive World Health Organization (WHO) Statistical Information System. Although the actual search interface is restricted to WHO documents, often they in turn point to outside sources.
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
Demographics are statistics used to describe the characteristics or composition of a population group. They tend to cover social and economic characteristics, but type and level of information gathered varies from survey to survey.
Maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides easy access to Census demographic information, as well as national maps and the more detailed U.S. Census Bureau homepage.
Demographic and Health Surveys
This program compiles information specifically on developing nations. It is funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development.
U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts
Provides summary statistics at the state and county level of census data related to demographics, education, economics, etc. Good for finding basic information about a specific city or state.
United Nations Statistics Division
Find national statistics on a wide-range of topic areas, including but not limited to demographic, social, economic, environmental, gender, and generational data.
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory
Although WHO does not directly provide demographic information, it does provide links to demographic information on member states; see “List of WHO Member States.”
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
Vital statistics include births, deaths, marriages, and divorces. All levels of government agencies often keep them, although in the United States, gathering the data is specifically a state responsibility.
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
Mortality statistics are the rates at which a specific population group die of certain diseases and conditions. Morbidity statistics are the number of people in a specific population group affected by certain diseases and conditions.
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
Demographic and Health Surveys
European Health for All group databases
A central database of health-related statistics in the European Region. Covers basic demographics, health status, health determinants, and risk factors, as well as health care resources and expenditures. Includes data visualization and interactive online tools.
United Nations Statistics Division
Find national statistics on a wide range of topic areas, including but not limited to demographic, social, economic, environmental, gender, and generational data.
World Health Organization Country Statistics
Health data and statistics for many countries.
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory
Health-related statistics on an international level. Data is organized around health status and health quality indicators in relation to the World Health Organization's sustainable development and universal health coverage goals.
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
America’s Health Rankings provides an annual analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis and a ranking of the healthiest and least healthy states. Browse by State and by Measure. The 2009 Rankings reveal the overall health of the U.S. population has not improved for the fifth year in a row.
California Health and Human Services Open Data Portal
CHHS has launched its Open Data Portal initiative in order to increase public access to non-confidential health and human services data.
California Health Interview Survey (CHIS)
Data from state-wide telephone-based health survey. Topics include health, housing, access to care, employment, insurance, food environment, etc. Access requires a free AskCHIS account.
California Vital Statistics Data Tables
Official source of demographic planning for State planning & budgeting.
Disease Trends: State and Local Health Statistics
Part of the Centers for Disease Control, this site allows you to search the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report for information on a specific state, as well as New York City, the District of Columbia, and certain U.S. territories.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts
Provides summary statistics at the state and county level of census data related to demographics, education, economics, etc. Good for finding basic information about a specific city or state.
The Kaiser Family Foundation site provides information on a number of health and demographic indicators in the United States. Browse by category or by location.
Constructed as a snapshot to identify health issues at the county level.
California Department of Health Care Access and Information: Data and Reports
Data sets and products from reports submitted by individual licensed healthcare facilities. This government agency was formerly known as OSHPD (Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development).
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
Data from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.
View reports from data collected under the HealthyPeople2010 initiative with 427 objectives. National data with some information available at the state level.
Website providing quick access to statistics related to topics of importance to public health. Statistics created by U.S. government and state agencies. Website maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
The National Center for Health Statistics published the latest edition of the annual report on trends in health statistics.
Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them. Search the Objectives and Data database.
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
Data from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.
California Vital Statistics Data Tables
Official source of demographic planning for State planning & budgeting.
Center for Health Statistics Vital Statistics Query System
Provided by the California Department of Health Services, this site provides vital statistics for the state of California on a county level.
Constructed as a snapshot to identify health issues at the county level.
Fresno County Department of Public Health
U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts
Provides summary statistics at the state and county level of census data related to demographics, education, economics, etc. Good for finding basic information about a specific city or state.
Health Stats: By Location - Free Resources (for Health Sciences) - Research Guides at University of Southern California. Accessed September 24, 2024. https://libguides.usc.edu/c.php?g=293762&p=1957062#s-lg-box-5978181
